Compilation errors (Visual Studio 2010): pstsdknet does not compile.

Oct 29, 2012 at 11:52 AM

Hi all,

I'm new to software development and am trying get to pstsdk.net working for me so I can use it in a project. I've downloaded boost_1_42_0, pstsdk, pstsdknet and fairport and my directory structure is as follows:

C:/ReadpstOS/pstsdknet

C:/ReadpstOS/boost_1_42_0

C:/ReadpstOS/pstsdk/pst

C:/ReadpstOS/pstsdk/fairport

C:/ReadpstOS/pstsdk/BuildProcessTemplates

I think I've got all the needed files and that my directory structure is correct, but when I try to compile the pstsdknet solution file in Visual Studio 2010 I get a list of compilation errors. The errors given are as follows:

Could not load referenced assembly "C:\ReadpstOS\pstsdknet\trunk\pstsdk.net\bin\Debug\pstsdk.dll". 

Metadata file 'C:\ReadpstOS\pstsdknet\trunk\pstsdk.net\bin\Debug\pstsdk.dll' could not be found 

The project file "..\..\pstsdk.mcpp\pstsdk.mcpp.vcproj" is in the ".vcproj" file format, which MSBuild no longer supports. Please convert the project by opening it in the Visual Studio IDE or running the conversion tool, or use MSBuild 3.5 or earlier to build it.    ps

The type or namespace name 'mcpp' does not exist in the namespace 'pstsdk' (are you missing an assembly reference?)

I've tried using Visual Studio Express 2008 with SP1 installed instead to compile pstsdknet, but that also does not work and lists its own set of problems. I've been messing around for a while now, trying to follow the errors and fix them myself but I've gotten nowhere so far. I would greatly appreciate it if someone would help me out.

Thanks and sincerely,

Developer
Oct 29, 2012 at 5:26 PM

Hi,